Book Shelves

The School and Home Library

The Online Library for Home Schoolers

Databases and Web Portals


Home
About Home Schooling
Libraries
Databases
Curriculum
Reading/Books
Search Tools
Reference
Information Literacy
Web 2.0
Museums
For Parents


Contact me: whitneylibrary@comcast.net











Children on Computer
Databases are collections of data organized for easy access. Databases can include information about specific topics or contain numerous resources on a wide variety of topics. Many state and city libraries maintain databases for use by their citizens; however, users must have an account at their local public library to gain access. Several such databases are included here: contact you local library for more information about databases in city or state.

Grade Level

Database

Description

K through 7

Kidsclick Created and maintained by librarians with strict criteria  for website inclusion, e.g. no commercials sites, no fees, no unsafe privacy features.Web sites are organized using the Dewey Decimal System.

PreK through 8

ALA's Great Web Sites for Kids The American Library Association and the Association for Library Service to Children identify and organize web sites using strong selection criteria. Web sites are coded for appropriate age groups.

PreK through High School

Knowitall.org South Carolina's ETV web portal to sites with educational value to children K through 12, parents, and teachers. Organized by subject, grade level, and alphabetically.
World of Words Maintained by the University of Arizona School of Education,
WOW is a free database of culturally authentic children's and adolescent books from around the world.

K through College

US.Gov Web portal for information about and for the United States Government, includes links to maps, historical documents, laws and regulations, statistics, photos, forms, and much more.
Galileo GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online: Provides access to over 100 databases and more than 2000 journals. Guest users can access non-password protected resources including the Digital Library of Georgia databases and the New Georgia Encyclopedia.
DISCUS Digital Information for South Carolina USers: is available to all South Carolina residents through all public K-12, academic, and public libraries. To use at home, obtain a username and password from you local public library.
ELM Electronic Library for Minnesota: is comprised of over 45 databases providing access to journals, periodicals, newspapers, ebooks and reference resources. Some databases may require a public library barcode for access.
NYPL New York Public Library Databases: Although  many of the databases require an NYPL card, some are available for free. NYPL uses a globe symbol to identify free databases.
CPL The Chicago Public Library Databases can only be accessed by those with a CPL library card; however, databases of particular interest for children and teens are easily identified.
NCLive Statewide cooperative of public and academic libraries provides online resources to NC residents. Must obtain a password from a member library.